Sailing report

Today was the first day I’ve got some real wind to play in. NOAA reported a 17 MPH breeze at the time I was out. Definately more than I’ve been out on in this boat before. I carried full sails and didn’t really need to reef at this speed. As I suspected she is a little wet going upwind in these conditions. So I took some spray in over the bow. It was welcomed- it was in the 90’s today. Putting the rail under felt good – not scary at all. When I pushed her a little harder and buried the side deck she still didn’t feel on the edge of capsizing. And when a gust hit, the bow rounded up into the wind without excessive weather helm felt at the tiller. Sorta like a built in safety net 🙂  I took some water over the rail a couple times and sure am glad I put those drain plugs in the bottom. I had a good bit of water to drain out. Fun day. I’m looking foward to the next one already!

About timsboats

Beginning hobby boat builder Wannabee sailor
This entry was posted in Sharpie build and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

