Centerboard trunk

 I got started on the centerboard trunk today. I had the posts made up already. So I cut two pieces of the Sureply roughly oversize. You can see the little marking gauge I made up and used. Marked one side and clamped both together to plane them down to the line. It worked perfect for me – I can’t imagine getting any better fit. I quit for the day after test fitting the trunk to see how it looked. My plan it to trace the plywood onto my trunk logs once I get them made up. Don’t see how it shouldn’t give me a perfect fit – we’ll see when I get there. This was another one of those jobs I worried about beforehand, but once I did it, it was almost too easy. I like when things work out that way. 🙂

trunk marking gauge

start of the centerboard trunk

About timsboats

Beginning hobby boat builder Wannabee sailor
This entry was posted in Sharpie build and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.