Ready for planking

I got my plywood for the planking the other day. I bought 1/4″ Sureply from Lowe’s. Sureply is offered as a premium underlayment. It costs $20 a sheet and marine ply was more than twice as much. The Sureply uses waterproof glue and I have not seen any voids yet. It’s better than I at first thought it might be, so I think it’ll make a fine, inexpensive little boat. It may change my mind also about using only marine ply for my catamaran build that’s coming up. Might be able to start that sooner than I thought… but let’s get this one done first, OK?

I spent about 8 hours today trimming up the transom ply and scarphing up the sheets for the planking. I got fast hardener for the West Systems epoxy so I hope to be ready to start planking the topsides tomorrow.

The scarphs were made 12:1  —  3 inches long for 1/4″ plywood. Sounds kinda impossible when you say it but it worked out OK. All done with a hand plane. Lots of sweat – no blood or tears. But satisfying work.

setup for scarphing

getting started

all done

transom planked

About timsboats

Beginning hobby boat builder Wannabee sailor
This entry was posted in Sharpie build and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

